Lopez Canteen – Remembering the taste and the experience

90030063 – This was my student number 20+ years ago. And this is how I looked back then.

Some 20 years ago

Some 20 years ago

I am a bit nostalgic because this entry made me recall bits and pieces of an important part of my life on my 40th birthday… college days.

Back then, I felt that college life was my gateway to adulthood. Just four years and am free. Free from the prying eyes of mama. No more curfews and no more meddling (sorry Ma, I was 16 then. Those were the biggest concerns of my life). I enjoyed every minute of those four years (well except for the hours spent in PoliSci and Stat). And when I majored in Comm Arts., the excitement and fun peaked. As for the constant flooding, well it added up to the thrill.

So imagine my pure delight when Jlo asked me to do a food review for Lopez Canteen. Pictures of Tinoko Park, old Library (at Main Building) complete with all those ghosts stories, those long AB uniform skirts flashed through my mind. When the package arrived, I attacked it with giddy hands and the same enthusiasm the first time a stepped on USTE grounds.

Palabaok at Lumpia

Palabaok at Lumpia

Lumpia at suka

Lumpia at suka

At first bite, there is no mistaking it for the same old Lopez Canteen I knew in college. How they presented was still the same, as if I was transported back to my merienda breaks right after P.E. The same goes with the taste, saltiness blending with the crunchiness of the chicharon. The noodles were tender and the sauce, just the right amount, is delicious. The generous slices of egg clinched the deal.

The veggies lumpia hit the right spot. Every bite and every crackle of its crunchy wrapper can only be described through a scene from my favorite movie Ratatouille. Remember when the dreaded food critic Anton Ego took a bite of Remy’s ambitious ratatouille? When the camera zoom in to his childhood complete with kitchen background? That exact thing happened to me, only instead of the kitchen, the background was Lopez Canteen. I also like that there was a faint taste of sweet potato which complements the vinegar for the sawsawan.

I was not alone on this food journey. Ayi woke up early, so while Ayel and Iya were in dreamland, we were in food heaven. Ayi has a penchant for anything wrapped in lumpia wrapper thus she went for the veggie lumpia. And never stopped until the last bite.

Bite. Bite. Bite. Yum-yum-yum.

Bite. Bite. Bite. Yum-yum-yum.

Sniff. I think I will visit their place one of these days. Just to complete the trip back to memory lane. 🙂 Will try once again their student’s meals and enjoy a walk at the football field.

You can share the same experience, they also cater and their contact numbers can be found below. And if you are a real Thomasian you know you won’t resist it’s pull.

lopez canteen

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a comment